Home > News > Latest News > CWM Assembly 2024

CWM Assembly 2024

12 June 2024

CWM Assembly 2024

"The quadrennial Assembly of the Council for World Mission (CWM) will take place in Durban, South Africa, from 12-19 June, under the theme “Rise to Life: Together in Transformation.” The 2020 Assembly was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Given the eight-year gap, I hope this Assembly will be a great time of fellowship, worship, study, networking, ‘reading of the signs of the time’ and discerning together the mission of God." writes Rev. Dr Jooseop Keum, CWM General Secretary.

In the Assembly Handbook, Rt Rev. Lydia Neshangwe, CWM Moderator, writes:

We come to the Assembly for four reasons:

  1. We come to celebrate – to celebrate God’s working through both our forebears who began this global missionary movement with courage and calling, and to celebrate the work of those who are currently responding to God’s call through the multi-faceted work being achieved through CWM.
  2. We come to share our stories of mission – these stories are the backbone of God’s work through the member churches, and these stories inspire us to keep going.
  3. We come to read the signs of the times – and we do this collectively as the body of Christ so that we can respond more effectively in keeping with the African proverb which says, “If you want to go fast, go alone; if you want to go far, go together.”
  4. We come to discern the will of God as we elect and appoint a new Board of Directors. This requires total submission to the leading of the Holy Spirit.

To follow the Assembly you can watch live on YouTube (or catch up afterwards). Just follow this link.

To find out more about the Assembly please click this link.

Representing the Congregational Federation at the CWM Assembly are Eilidh MacLeod, CF youth representative from Highbury Congregational Church, and Jason Boyd, (Minister of Highbury Congregational Church, CF representative for ministry leaders), Mark Tucker ((Operations Manager, CF) and Elizabeth Sweeney (President, CF). Our General Secretary Yvonne Campbell is also at the Assembly as part of the Nominations Committee.